Encouragement from the Park

So for part of today at Camp, I spent some of my time at the Island Lake Skate Park. During the school year the park is open to the public, as a ministry, on Wednesday afternoons. As it turned out, today we did not have the staff needed to cover it so I went out there to hang out with the skaters…and what I witnessed surprised me.

Here were 10-20 middle school and high school boys who like to skate, and that is there reason for come to Camp. From what I could tell, many of these boys did not know each other previously, have varying morals/ideals that are important to them and only come to Island Lake to skate.

During my time at the skate park, I ended up being encouraged by much of their behaving as they went around the park, trying new tricks, laughing and most of all-encouraging each other in everything. With every trick performed, even if failed, was greeted with encouraging words from the other skaters. If a random bunch of high school-aged guys can encourage each other through skating, then we should be able to encourage each other through everything we do.

I urge you to learn a lesson from the skaters…look for ways to encourage each other through everything!

Leave a Reply

