Should Have

When we look at our lives, we are often faced with the “should haves.” You know what I mean, the things you wish you had done because it may have just happened to change the course of our lives. But for one reason or another, we did not do them…and they became “should haves.”

When I started thinking about this idea of “should haves,” I tried to think of some examples from my life. Here are a couple things that sometimes I think about, and I wonder: how would my life be different if any of these were on my “done” list, rather than my “should have” list.

  • Should have been been more involved at Cornell, especially since I was blessed to have a Christian roommate
  • Should have gone on roomies freshmen year
  • Should have gone back to Mexico, or gone on another missions trip
  • Should have gotten on the 4:00 Am ferry
  • Should have gone to China to study
  • And in some cases, it’s as simple as: should have said yes/no

But here is the thing…no matter what we have or have not done, we are where we are in life because of it. Every time I start to think about these, or other “should haves” I remember something powerful: God has a plan for me and although I do not know what it may be, I know it will be great. As people, we are naturally flawed, and we often think this gets in the way of God’s plan for us. But, I assure you, God has a plan for each and every one of us.

So although we may think of the “should haves” and wish we could go back, remember that because of them, you are who you are today. And if you are not who you want to be, remember that life is a journey and you are getting closer to who you are meant to be. You cannot change the “should haves” in your life, you can only look forward and take advantage of the times to come.

On a different note, whenever I think of “should haves” I always think of this song. Brings back great memories of the RlazyS Ranch, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

