Chapters in Life

Think about a book for a moment. Nearly every book of any length is divided into chapters. These chapters work together to bring about the full story. If taken individually, a single chapter would not make sense…the reader would be confused as to who the characters are and what is happening. This is why a book is not read by only reading a single chapter; no, it is read by reading all the chapters, in order. Just because a chapter ends, does not mean that everything starts a new with the new chapter, rather, it builds. In this way, the story is understood by the end and all the pieces have fallen into place.

I like to think of our lives as being broken into chapters. These chapters often reflect significant events that shape us and provide structure to our lives. Chapters may include things such as: college, time at a particular job, a relationship, and living in a particular area…I think you get the idea.

Just like a book, there are themes, people and ideals that run constant throughout our chapters. While some of these things remain constant throughout our lives, or at least through multiple chapters, but some of these do disappear between chapters, and do not play a part in subsequent chapters. It is important to recognize when these chapters end and try to determine what will happen in the next chapter, what will remain the same and what will be set aside.

As I have moved through the story that is my life, there have been people, places, material possessions, ideas and more that have stayed through the chapters, been written out and been added in. It just keeps showing me that my life is like a book, and I do not even know everything that is happening. Is it easy to move through the chapters of life? Not always, no. But I try not to be too worried.

You see, one of the reasons I am not too worried about what is next in my story, is because I believe the words of Hebrews 12:2, which state: Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Jesus is the author of my life. For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and future (Jeremiah 29:11).

So as I move into new chapters in my life, I know there are things and people that will not have a significant role in the new chapter. This is not necessarily an easy pill to swallow, but life does go on. For everything that is taken out of my life, I know that God will replace it with something even more amazing and in line with what He has in store for my life.

To those who are also starting new chapters, to those who are working on figuring out their own story and what may or may not be in it- I wish you all the best. We all go through periods of life in which we try to figure out more of who we are and what God wants for us, and I hope each and every one of you gets to that point. Know you are in my thoughts, but more importantly in my prayers.

So live life, enjoy the chapter you may be in, and know that something new is around the corner…in a chapter still waiting to be written. But also know that some times, goodbyes happen…

Every memory of looking out the back door
I had the photo album spread out on my bedroom floor
It’s hard to say it, time to say it
Goodbye, goodbye.
Every memory of walking out the front door
I found the photo of the friend that I was looking for
It’s hard to say it, time to say it
Goodbye, goodbye
.

Leave a Reply

