Work Weekend in Review

Let me start by saying that the past three days (Friday, Saturday, & Sunday) at work were crazy, busy, a little bit insane and all together great! It was definitely the busiest couple of days I have had since I started at the hotel, and showed me that this is the job for me, at least for right now. Let me briefly outline the three days in relation to work and what I was involved in.

  • Friday: Our hotel had the privilege of hosting all Silver Cloud GMs, Assistant GMs and everyone from our Corporate Office, approximently 24 people in total. While some our staff were not entirely thrilled to be hosting this event, I was pretty excited. I am still one of the newest employees in the company and was glad for the chance to show people just what I can do when it comes to events. We had an awesome menu customized for them and I spent a while working to get both the meeting room and room for lunch ready and up to my level. I was so pleased with how everything turned out! I was able to meet everyone for Corporate and several of the GMs…it was great to be with people who have been in the hospitality for as long as they have and still seemed to be impressed with our facility. More than gaining self-gratification, I wanted these individuals to enjoy everything our hotel had to offer. I also spent time prepping for two large groups I had staying in the hotel for the weekend. For protection of my clients, I will not say who the groups were specifically, but I will say that one was a lacrosse team (approx.17 rooms plus parents) and the other a ski team (approx. 30 rooms), lots of athletes!
  • Saturday: I spent the day working on three groups. First, there was the ski group. They were fairly self-sustaining and involved minimal work on my end, just answering any questions that the group leaders had for me. Second, we had lots of work to do for the Lacrosse team. From the athletes all having breakfast in the restaurant at once to putting together 28 boxes to go, they definitely kept myself and the restaurant crew busy. Third, I had booked a last minute event for a small group of dental hygienists that used our boardroom for the day. For them I made sure the room was set how they wanted, served them lunch and helped them out when needed. I was at work for most of the day and barely sat down!
  • Sunday: Again all three groups were in the hotel. The main difference for today was that they were also all leaving at some point during the day. The ski team all left fairly early but stored some of their luggage while they were out skiing for the day. The lacrosse team once again had breakfast and to-go’s. As they prepared to head out to a game, I worked with team coaches to settle the various bills and make sure everything was in order…Needless to say, they left very happy and grateful that we had helped them out so much. The last group, the dental hygienists, were once again in the board room. I must say, they were the nicest group I have had in the past four months. It was a joy to serve them and I really hope they come back (and I bet they will)!
So that is a snapshot of my weekend. Sure I worked all weekend so I will not have a day off for a two week stretch, but it was totally worth it. I loved every minute of it. You see, it did remind me a bit of camp. It was the three busiest days I have had since I started, and I felt at ease and in my element. I welcome the times to come if this weekend is any indication of what may come! Although I am now pretty tired, to see my groups happy made it all worth it!)

Salmon entree for GM meeting

Desserts for GM meeting

28 To-Go Meals for the Lacrosse team.

Leave a Reply

