When It’s Story Time

Take a moment and flash forward to your life in the future…you pick how far out…maybe 20 years, or 10, or even just a couple years down the road. Now, do not try to picture what you will be doing, where you will be working or who you will be with (while those types of exercises can be helpful, that is not the point of this poist)…instead, I want you to picture sitting down with someone and beginning to tell your story…all of it. Imagine you are telling your story to your spouse or children (yes, this is going off the basic premise of the tv show How I Met Your Mother). Now think about your life, things you have done in the past, the things you are involved in right now and what you have planned for the future. Now ask youself this question:

Am I proud of my life, will I be ashamed telling my story?

 So how do you answer this question? Are you living your life in a way that at some point down the road you will enjoy telling your story? Will your future kids be proud of you, or at least enjoy the story, or will it make them wonder who you really are? Will the way you are living cause you to become the type of parent that will have to tell their children:do as I say, not as I do/did?

I know there are things in all of our pasts that we are not proud of… decisions we have made or things we have done that perhaps were not the best, but let us put an end to that right now. When I look back on my life, I do not want to see a life of regrets or poor choices (I know there are some of these, I’m not being naivie), I want to see a life well-lived with the people I love the most. More than anything, I want to look back on my life and see Christ. He has a plan for my life and some day I’ll fully know how it all fit together.

I am, right now, recommitting my promise to live a life that is in accordance to God’s will for my life. He’s brought about some pretty amazing things in my life before, when I put my trust fully in Him, and I know there are more great things in store. I have learned that when I try to do it fully on my own, or fall into the traps of the world, I am led astray from the path He has set before me. I want to live out Romans 12:2..check it out. 

I want my story to be God’s story for my life…He is the author.

A good reminder when looking at the story that is your life.

 

2 thoughts on “When It’s Story Time

    • It really is…I’m glad you understand what I’m trying to get at, sometimes it can be a little tricky to put into adaquate words and some people just do not understand…But we do!

Leave a Reply

