Snopocalypse- January ’12

So my coworkers and I just wrapped up a week that deserves a place in the record books. Some people called in ‘snopocalypse’ or ‘snomagedon’ or simply ‘snow week.’ And what a week it was! As the weather worsened, the hotel definitely got busier and busier. We found ourselves in the midst of a winter storm and providing a place of warmth and safety to countless people as the week went on. The busiest day, by far, was Thursday due to the fact that we sold out of all our rooms in a matter of hours. I spent the entire day on the phone and assisting the front desk. Then we realized that everyone staying would be having dinner in our restaurant so after a quick break, I jumped back in to the kitchen to run the dishwasher and help out. By the time I got home last night, after being at the hotel since Tuesday morning (I did have my own suite so it wasn’t all bad), I was exhausted-very truly so.

And while the week was crazy, busy and at times more than a little stressful, I did enjoy it. I considered it an honor to be working with a group of people at a place that we could truly help people in need. We were able to give shelter, warmth, food and electricity to those who were without. In a way, we were a light in the darkness of the storm… figuratively and literally.Although it was not ideal to be ‘trapped’ at work, it allowed me to continue working and for that I am thankful.I don’t mean this to come across as prideful or boastful, I’m trying to give you an idea of what it was like.

During the past few days, one particular verse came to mind. Matthew 25:35, “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in.” Although our staff comes from a variety of backgrounds and beliefs (most of which I do not yet fully know), I do not think that anyone could deny that this is what we were doing, and in fact what we do everyday. Like I said, it was an honor to work and serve during this time.

To my coworkers:
thank you so much for your hard work these past few days. You kept working and kept at it, no matter what happened. It was a joy and inspiration to be working along side you. You all truly made it a successful week, despite what the weather threw our way! Thanks again, you all rock and we could not have done it with out each and everyone of you!

Well, there are sure stories to tell from the past few days so feel free to ask. It was an adventure to be sure, a great learning opportunity….and I enjoyed it! Now for a weekend rest then back at it on Monday! Good thing I really like my job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

