Drum Major

If you want to say that I was a drum major, say that I was a drum major for justice. (Amen)

Say that I was a drum major for peace. (Yes)

I was a drum major for righteousness.

And all of the other shallow things will not matter. (Yes)

I won’t have any money to leave behind.

I won’t have the fine and luxurious things of life to leave behind.

But I just want to leave a committed life behind. (Amen)

And that’s all I want to say.

Yes, Jesus, I want to be on your right or your left side, (Yes) Not for any selfish reason.

I want to be on your right or your left side, not in terms of some political kingdom or ambition.

But I just want to be there in love and in justice and in truth and in commitment to others-

So that we can make of this old world a new world.

The words of the late Martin Luther King Jr. May his words and message continue to live on although he has long since passed on.

Leave a Reply

