Friends and Co-Leaders

So last night was awesome…I got to spend time with my fellow youth group leaders. We’re all leaders with the junior high youth group at our church, Eastside Foursquare. While we do get to see each other each week during youth group, it’s always so great to have a chance to be in community together outside of being at church. Each month we meet at our youth pastor’s apartment, have dinner, plan for upcoming weeks/months and all sorts of stuff. It’s typically a few hours of a good mix of fun and seriousness as we work together. Last night was our Christmas meeting and it was wonderful! We had a delicious dinner and spent some time just chatting. Then we jumped into brainstorming topics for the new year as well as continued planning for our Winter Camp in January. (We’re spending the entire weekend on the book of James) After we covered the business end of things, we enjoyed some Christmas fun. We exchanged gifts, played games and just enjoyed the chance to hang out with each other. It was great!

I feel so blessed to be a part of this group and am so thankful for each of the leaders. When I moved home after camp, I prayed that God would open an opportunity for me to get involved with youth ministries, if that was His will for me. Literally the next day I talked to one of the youth pastors at my church and she asked if I wanted to help out with the youth group. I’ve now been involved with the junior high youth group for most of the school year and it’s been great. It took me a little while to get accustomed to it, mainly cause it’s a different area of ministry than I am used to, but I am so thankful I decided to stay with it. I’ve been co-leading the 8th grade guys, and while they are a challenge at times, it’s been very rewarding. I enjoy helping out with different aspects of Wednesday services and working alongside a great group of individuals. While each of us come from different areas and experiences, we all have something to give and make the youth group better for everyone…1 Corinthians 12, anyone?

It’s been a great experience so far and I look forward to more great times to come! Please keep our youth group, students and leaders in your prayers.

Leave a Reply

