Answer to Prayer

About a month ago, so many things were ending/changing in my life. I really questioned why everything was happening and did not really have an answer. There have been times that I felt depressed about everything and had no idea where my life was headed. I have had no choice but to fully trust God and try to figure out where His path is leading me. I fully believe that this still takes work, so I hit up the job hunt for week after week. I got in touch with people I knew in various industries, utilized my network, looking on line, emailed companies and filled out countless applications. It definitely got very discouraging as doors continued to close, but I chose to keep trusting God and leaning on my friends for support.

Well, it finally paid off. About a week ago, I came across an online job posting at a hotel chain in the Seattle area. I sent in an application and really was not planning on hearing anything back, especially since it was around Thanksgiving. I got a call Monday evening requesting I call back the next morning to potentially set up an interview. So I called at 7:40 AM Tuesday and ended up going in for an interview at 10:00 AM. I was there until well past noon and met with both the Director of Sales and the General Manager for the hotel. I was told not to get my hopes up too much but that I should expect a call back soon. Both people seemed very excited about my interest and kept talking about how my experiences and skills could really help the hotel. It seemed like a great opportunity and the type of job I would enjoy and excel at. Trying not to keep my hopes up too much, I left the hotel feeling very hopeful.

Then it all changed this morning (Wednesday) when I received a call. To summarize the conversation, the Director of Sales offered me the job! I went back to the hotel for the afternoon to fill out paperwork, meet some of the staff and learn more about my new job. I’ll be the Sales Coordinator for Silver Cloud Hotel Bellevue-Eastgate. I have a wide variety of job responsibilities/duties and really pulls from my experiences (especially Echo Falls, Sodexho, and Island Lake). I’ll be coordinating many different aspects of the hotel’s operations from sales, tours, catering events and so much more! I know I’ll get the hang out it more the longer I do it. I start next week and have a lot of training before me. I’ll be spending time with the kitchen/restaurant, front desk, housekeeping, engineering, catering and all the other departments…such a great way to learn all about the hotel! So there’s so much more I could write, and I’m sure I will as I really start to get into all of it.

I am so thankful to everyone who has helped me along the way, words cannot truly express. Getting a full time position is such a blessing and answer to prayer, especially with everything else going on in my life. I feel so privileged right now. There is nothing I can really do other than hit my knees and send up a true prayer of thankfulness and appreciation. God’s been looking out for me and I know it is through Him that I have this job. I now look forward to the opportunities having a full time job will provide and what else may be coming.

Leave a Reply

