The night of mixed emotions….

Well, the night has come that I never thought would. It is my last night at Island Lake as a Summer Staffer. I am filled with mixed emotions as I prepare to leave this amazing place and enter into the next chapter of my life. I’ve been spending a lot of time reflecting on the last eleven weeks these past couple days, something that I always seem to do when I’m getting ready to move on. What a summer it has been…If I am honest with myself, this summer is absolutely nothing like I thought it would be, but I am glad it turned out the way it did. I will never forget the people I have met , and what we did here. It was truly a summer to never forget.

As I reflect, I’m reminded of the amazing times I had along the way. From fun games with campers to late night conversations with friends…times I do not think I would trade away. It was not always easy, however, and I am also thankful for those times. Through everything this summer, I am thankful to God for everything, and for all the lessons He taught me along the way. If I walk away from camp learning only one thing, it is that He knows the plan in store for me and all I have to do is put my trust fully in Him and know that the plan will be revealed in due time.

So much more happened this summer than I could ever explain, or write about in a single blog post. It was an incredible summer to be sure and I thank all of you who were apart of it in some way. It was truly an honor to work with and grow along side each of you this summer and I look forward to seeing what God has in store for us in the days, weeks and years to come. The goodbyes have already started, but I am choosing not to think of it as such. In all honesty, it is much more of a “see you later.” For I know that I will see each of you again someday and I look forward to that reunion time.

As I leave I will remember two very important verses to me from the summer. Isaiah 6:8 and Micah 6:8. From this point I choose to boldly go into what God calls me to, and to live humbly for Him. It’s going to be a crazy ride, so be sure to stay tuned! There is a lot happening in the life of Rob right now, and I’ll be sure to fill you in on what happens.

For now, mainly for the camp people: ~Spartan 117 Over and Out~

-Rob “Master Chief” Henry

2 thoughts on “The night of mixed emotions….

  1. I can remember each of my drives away from Island Lake the three summers I worked….I remember them completely and to the moment. It was full of emotion and confusion, not knowing where my life was gong to pick up. I was so unsettled and just sobbed on my way back out of Poulsbo. It’s a strange feeling indeed my friend. One more summer under the belt. Congrats. Island Lake will always be there….I almost adventured out there a couple days ago actually…ha.

    • It’s a comforable feeling that Island Lake will always be there, as will the memories I’ve taken away. I’ve gone back to the Lake since the summer ended and spent time just walking the grounds. It’s amazing how many more memories, emotions and thoughts come racing back when you’re actually there. It is a great place and the Lord has truly blessed it. I look forward to my next visit with great anticipation.

Leave a Reply

