Where has the time gone…..

Today I registered for my last quarter of classes at SPU. It was an overall anticlimactic experience and left me with mixed emotions. I have vivid memories of registration times in the past where I’ve nervously checked to see if classes had open spots and essentially freaked out when a class filled up before I could register. This time, however, I felt none of that. I calmly logged in to banner, entered the course numbers and hit submit. No head ache, no panic, nothing. With the click of my mouse I have truly started the final countdown to graduation and an end of my time at SPU.

The time leading up to registration has filled me with mixed emotions. Overall I would say that I am excited for what is coming after graduation, but I am also equally nervous and hesitant to leave a place that has become home to me over the past four years. I’ve been spending a lot of time reflecting on my time here and the experiences I’ve had at SPU. Many times, I’ll think of opportunities I never took advantage of, or opportunities I missed out on. I talk to others about their time in college and often think “Man, I wish I could have done…”

However, after these thoughts cross my mind, random memories from the past four years come to my mind’s eye. I am filled with memories, emotions and feelings from the various opportunities and experiences over the years. Thats when I realize something: I’ve had a great time at SPU. I lived on two great floors on campus, served in numerous leadership opportunities, taken many amazing classes from equally amazing professors, been on my fair share of late-night Taco Bell/Wendy’s runs and taken many enjoyable walks around campus and the surrounding neighborhoods. I’ve been able to travel both with my family and with friends, I’ve experienced new parts of the world and Seattle, and I’ve made friends that I will have for the rest of my life.

So while my college experience may not fit into the “stereotypical” college experience (drunk parties, constant all nighters, or something along those lines), I can proudly say I have had an amazing college experience. It has been during these few years that I have been tested and tried, and have learned so much about myself and who I really am.

I often tell people this, and I truly mean it- I have never once regretted my choice in coming to SPU. This campus, and all the people within it, have impacted me in ways I could never have imagined.  To all of you who have placed a part in my collegiate experience, I say thank you. Thank you for the memories, the experiences and the lessons I have learned along the way. You have all impacted me in ways I could never completely tell you.

Leave a Reply

